Special hours in August - Tue from 5-9pm
CLOSED 6/26-7/4, 8/28-9/5
The San Marcos Historical Society (SMHS) was established in 1967 and incorporated in 1968 under the guidance of Flora Brown. The SMHS was located at 270 San Marcos Blvd until the end of 2009 when it was relocated to Heritage Park. Heritage park is located within Walnut Groove. The area is filled with San Marcos History and nestled with the Twin Oaks Valley. Walnut Groove consists of 39 acres with 2 equestrian arenas, picnic areas, playgrounds, the Williams barn and a large grass field. Heritage Park consists of consist of four buildings, the welcome center/museum, the Cox and Bidwell historical houses and a new storage facility. The Welcome Center/Museum is housed in Mary Y Connor's Hall, which was built in 1940 by the Works Projects Administration. The historic Cox and Bidwell houses were built in the late 1800's and are filled with antiques and decor from that time period. Tours of the homes are available. The Society is a private, non-profit corporation devoted to the collection, preservation and presentation of artifacts, documents and photos relating to the history of the area.
78 Freeway. Exit Twin Oaks Valley Road & go North. Right on East Olive Street. Left on Sycamore Drive. Left into Walnut Grove Park, at the back of the parking lot inside Walnut Grove Park.